Writer in New Jersey — Money Diary

Occupation: teacher/writer
Industry: Education
Age: 32
Location: Northern New Jersey
My salary: ~$50,000 (this varies and is an average as I work under contract/freelance)
My husband’s salary: $92,000
Net value : $110,107.82 (Assets: HYSA: $85,000 (divided into various funds for travel and savings, etc.), my husband’s IRA accounts: $13,500, my IRA accounts: $52,500, my 403(b) account: ~$980, investments: $4,068.85 less debt.)
Debt: $5,500 (car loan), $36,800 (husband’s student loans), $3,641.03 (my student loans)
Amount of my paycheck (2x/month): $844.62 (this has changed since I became independent)
Pay check from my husband (2x/month): $2,821.60
Pronouns: She she

Monthly expenses
Lease: $2,350 (includes heat/hot water/sewer/amenity charges) for a shared bedroom with my husband
Car park: $132
Gas/Electricity: $62
Car payment: $260
My student loans: $1,000
Student loans from my husband: $0 (currently deferred).
Health insurance: $0 (my husband’s employer pays for both of us)
Car insurance: $900 every six months
Dental insurance: $90
Phone/Internet: $190
NY Times: $30
Spotify Family Plan: $14
Diffusion: $30
Free FM: $15
Donations: $40 (public radio, Planned Parenthood, local food bank)
IRA: $750 combined
HYSE: ~$300
403(b): 5% of my salary (employer contributes 8%, my husband’s company does not offer retirement options)
Improvement: $25
Annual expenses:
Rental Insurance: $92
Jewelery insurance: $200
Physiotherapy insurance: $160

Comments are closed.